Riverview School District


Riverview School Board Honored as WSSDA Board of the Year

L-R: Vice President Danny Edwards, Director Lori Oviatt, President Carol Van Noy, Director Sabrina Parnell,
Senior Student Representative Pascal Nagata, Director Jodi Fletcher, Junior Student Rep Sophie Paradis,
and Superintendent Dr. Anthony L. Smith.

Last week, the Riverview School Board was honored by the Washington State School Directors Association (WSSDA) as one of three school boards in the state to receive the prestigious WSSDA Board of the Year Award for 2016. The Riverview School Board was selected in the 1,000-9,000 student enrollment category.

The current Riverview Board Members include President Carol Van Noy, Vice President Danny Edwards, and Directors Lori Oviatt, Jodi Fletcher, and Sabrina Parnell. The Board was joined by student representatives Pascal Nagata and Sophie Paradis and Riverview Superintendent, Dr. Anthony L. Smith, who was elated with the award announcement.

“This award is about a school board that is passionate about our singular focus of providing each and every student with the best education possible,” he said. “They are known as progressive educational leaders throughout the state of Washington and get involved at all levels to provide the support needed so our students and staff excel.”

The other two school boards receiving recognition were Crescent and Pasco. To qualify for the award, school boards must first submit an application to qualify for a Board of Distinction Award. 24 out of 296 districts statewide had boards that were selected as a Board of Distinction.

The application was screened by an independent panel that evaluated school board and district results in Boardsmanship, Professional Development, Student Achievement Data, and included six standards ranging from responsible school governance; to community engagement; to setting and communicating high expectations for student learning, with clear goals and plans for meeting those expectations.

Please join us in congratulating our Riverview School Board - the 2016 WSSDA Board of the Year - on this incredible and well-deserved honor and recognition.